Tags

IMG_1921From JR Sapporo, we took a train to Otaru and there are several trains a day. It costs 650 yen and it takes roughly around 30 minutes to get there. I love Otaru! I didn’t expect to fall in love with this place. It’s a quaint, small Japanese town loaded with charm. I think it’s perfect in the winter. I’m not sure how the place looks in different seasons.

IMG_1918 IMG_1919The station is very simple. They have a few shops. The buses are on the right side.

IMG_1920From outside the station, we kept going straight. We got ourselves a handy map and we decided to check out the canal first before the rest of the town. We noticed that the KFCs in Sapporo have Colonel Sanders outside the place.

IMG_1924We also passed by this milk place and my cousin wanted to try the Hokkaido milk.

IMG_1926IMG_1927You have a choice if you wanted it cold or hot.

IMG_1928My cousin liked it. Then we went on until we reached the canal. I love the big warehouses which they have turned into restaurants and breweries.

IMG_1930 IMG_1931We were actually on the opposite end so we had to walk on snow to get to the other side. I noticed this bins which were crushed scallos shells for use as anti skid material. You can get some and scatter it on the road. That is eco-friendly.

IMG_1939We finally reach the opposite end of the canal where there was a Tourist Information center.

IMG_1995 IMG_1994We even saw this bride or soon to be bride taking photos in the snow.

IMG_1996This is the grand view of the canal. It really is pretty but it’s prettier at night. :)

IMG_1958

 

