It has always been a dream of mine to see Shirakawa-go in winter. My cousin alerted me to a seat sale going on and fortunately, there were still seats left for us to purchase. We got a really good deal. Probably the cheapest tickets I have purchased for Japan. I’ve only been there once but our tickets were about 25% cheaper from the tickets we purchased two years ago which were also on sale. Anyway, I had to apply for the visa for this to become reality.

In our group, one has already secured a visa. She told me she got a 5 year multiple entry visa. That kept my hopes up that I might possibly also get the same thing. According to the news, they relaxed and extended the validity of the visas up to 5 years starting June 17 of this year. This is always welcome news, not to mention the convenience, saving time and money on visa applications for travelers to Japan.

HOW TO APPLY:

The first option of course is to personally go to any of the accredited agencies. I dread going to Manila unless it is necessary so I contacted a couple of accredited travel agencies and some of them accept mail in applications meaning you just send your documents to them and they will  process it for you for a fee.

WHERE TO APPLY: 

A. For ANY visa application
UHI
http://www.universalholidays.com
https://www.facebook.com/UniversalHolidaysInc
email: japanvisa@universalholidays.com
uhijapanvisa@gmail.com

Discovery Tour Inc.
http://discoverytour.ph/japanvisatour

RAJAH TRAVEL CORPORATION
http://www.rajahtravel.com

RELI TOURS & TRAVEL AGENCY
http://www.relitours.ph

ATTIC TOURS PHILS.,INC.
http://www.attictours.asia

FRIENDSHIP TOURS AND RESORTS CORPORATION
http://www.friendshipmanila.com

B. For application WITHOUT Japanese Guarantor
PAN PACIFIC TRAVEL CORPORATION
http://www.panpacifictravel.ph

For the full list and contact information, click here.

I actually contacted Reli Tours first since my cousin recommended them. She went personally to their office to apply. I called them and they referred me to the SM Megamall branch for mail in applications. I called the branch at SM Megamall but they were laughing while they answered and while I was on the line so I was really turned off and I thought that they probably wouldn’t take my application seriously.

My second option was Friendship Tours. I had my previous application processed through them before and had a good experience so I called them up. I can’t remember if I talked to them but I also emailed them and we corresponded through email about my questions and the process.

There were 2 of us applying. I am employed whereas my cousin is still a student. These are the documents we submitted.

FOR EMPLOYED
– Philippine passport
– Old Philippine passport with Japan visa
– Filled Application form with 2×2 picture in white background
– Original Bank certificates
– Copy of Income Tax Return
– Copy of DTI, Mayor’s permit
– Daily Schedule in Japan
– Not really required but we also submitted our Plane tickets since we already purchased it and hotel bookings which we can always cancel

FOR STUDENT (my cousin)
– Philippine passport
– Old Philippine passport with Japan visa
– Filled Application form with 2×2 picture in white background
– Original Bank certificate
– Guarantee letter from me and attached are copies of my bank certificate
– Copies of his school IDs
– Daily Schedule in Japan
– Not really required but we also submitted our Plane tickets since we already purchased it and hotel bookings which we can always cancel

So I had all the documents gathered. I paid for the 1200 fee each and also 200 courier fee for a total of 2600 on their account. Emailed the deposit slip to them and attached the original to the application before mailing it through LBC. I tracked my mail online and found that it was delivered the following day.

I did call the succeeding days to follow up and also emailed them a lot since I was worried that our documents weren’t received or something might have happened. I just wanted to confirm that they did receive it. No one answered the phone at their office until the third day. No one replied to my email as well which was not a really big issue since the usual 7-10 processing day hasn’t passed yet. They did contact mo on the third day to let me know that our visas were granted and they were going to be mailed and we can pick them up at the LBC branch of our choice the following day.

So, I think this is a good option for people who don’t have the time to go to Manila and it also saves you the cost for traveling and food. It’s very convenient especially to those of us who reside in the provinces or outside of Metro Manila. :) My cousin was granted the regular visa since it’s probably his first time. I was also given a 5 year multiple visa. Yay! Hello Japan seat sale!!!

japanvisapixelated

 

