Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_3538Beijing is famous for its peking duck and Dadong does a pretty good job with it. I would really recommend going here. The prices are affordable for such a great restaurant. You must make reservations just to be sure that you get a table. They have 4 branches and we went to the branch in Nanxincang which is very close to the subway.

IMG_3549HOW TO GET HERE:

Take subway and stop at Dongsishitao Station on Line 2. Walk straight from the exit, about a block and turn left.

Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant
1-2/F, Nanxincang International Plaza, 22A Dongsishitao, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China
Phone: 86-010-5169-0329

We actually had reservations for lunch but we went for dinner. I’m glad that they weren’t that busy and there were still tables that were available. We were lead to the second floor as the first floor is already full. I noticed that they also have private rooms. The restaurant is elegantly decorated.

IMG_3528The menu was really heavy. It was more like a book with more or less a hundred pages.

IMG_3536Pretty table settings. The resting place for the spoon and chopsticks are a couple of ducks which is a nice touch.

IMG_3534This was our server and he was awesome. I wish I had given him a large tip.

IMG_3541Of course we ordered the peking duck. They cut it right in front of your table into glorious yummy pieces.

IMG_3544It is plated on this flat serving dish with a candle on the bottom to keep it warm. It came with fried buns and flat wrapping bread. They did demonstrate on how to eat it.

IMG_3545IMG_3546This is the condiment platter which you pay extra. My cousin didn’t want to order one so the waiter gave her a complimentary one. They also gave us complimentary bread wraps which we didn’t really need since we were already full.

IMG_3543I also ordered this – like imperial sweets but it was not good. It had weird texture. I’m probably just not used to it. I wish I had ordered duck liver or something like that. We also ordered fruit shakes.

IMG_3548Towards the end of the meal, they gave us candied fruit and strawberry in dry ice. Props for presentation. This was actually very good. Our bill was 420 rmb or about 3,000 pesos which is actually not bad for the experience and quality of the food.

So yes, I recommend this place and I would definitely come back the next time I go back to Beijing. :)

 

