Tags

, , ,

IMG_3410Nan Lu Guo Xiang is a hutong in the Dongcheng district of Beijing. It is lined up with really cute stores and snack shops. Also, the distinct lanterns hanging overhead are up year round.  It is approximately 800m long, running from Guluo East St. to Di’anmen East Street so I thought it would be a good idea to check Tiananmen Square first.

IMG_3401So when we got off the subway, this was what we saw.

IMG_3404Didn’t really want to line up just to see something we’ve already been to. I think they were beefing up security because of the recent tragedy of a group of people stabbing random people at a train station at the time or maybe someone important was visiting.

IMG_3403I just took another picture before leaving. We asked the guards or anyone we came across to ask about Nan Luo Gu Xiang. They told us to take a bus.

DCIM100GOPROThey said it was very far. When a local tells you it’s very far, you better take heed.

IMG_3405We stopped at the corner of the street and walked quite a distance to get here. I wish they had just told us to take the subway since there’s an actual Nan Luo Gu Xiang stop. It’s also my fault for not checking on it before hand. If you see the picture above, the station is on the left.

IMG_3408There are a lot of rickshaw drivers offering their services for their hutong tour.

IMG_3415IMG_3419Yes, I got me another seal. :) This one takes a lot of bargaining though since they didn’t have fixed prices.

IMG_3420I chose a round wooden seal this time.

IMG_3422She was doing it by hand which was pretty cool. She drew the design first and then carved it. I asked her to put my English name on top and my the character of my last name on the bottom.

IMG_3429This was the final product. It was good, not amazing but it was pretty good.

IMG_3430It also came with this case. They were trying to sell me ink but I refused since I didn’t really want to spend any more money. :P

IMG_3432This cute leather shop with notebooks.

IMG_3433Even their toilets are in keeping with the environment. I bet they’re the traditional squat kind.

IMG_3434There’s even a Starbucks!

IMG_3440IMG_3443We stopped by for snacks. This It’s Me time stall was offering drinks and I bought this was on promo. It was only 5 yuan and it was really big!

IMG_3444There was a fried chicken stall next to it and I got one, a huge fried chicken so that was lunch. :)

IMG_3446 IMG_3451Stopped by this quaint postcard place and bought a few. Also sent myself a postcard which I actually received. :)

IMG_3457This is a very good idea. :)

On the other end of the street, there wasn’t really anything so we had to walk back to get to the subway.

Heres my loot from Nan Luo Gu Xiang.. :)

stuff

