Tags

,

IMG_8640The oyster card is a very convenient transport card where you can access buses, trams and trains. It’s a lot similar to the Octopus card of Hong Kong. You have to deposit 5 pounds to get a card and you can put money on it at convenient stores or at kiosks in the train stations. You don’t have to keep buying tickets so it’ll save you time and money. The fare is a bit cheaper than regular tickets.

I got mine from the King’s Cross St. Pancras station. Here’s a link for information where you can get one:
http://www.tfl.gov.uk/tickets/14482.aspx

IMG_8630

Oyster cards are reusable. I kept my oyster card after my trip, it so happened that another friend was going to London in a month so I let her borrow mine so she didn’t have to spend 5 pounds.

Here’s the transport for London website: http://www.tfl.gov.uk/ if you want to find out more information. They even have a fare calculator which comes handy if you’re trying to figure out the budget for your trip.

IMG_8638

I used mainly the tube (london underground train) and the bus. They operate at certain hours so you have to be aware of this. I heard that taxis are very expensive. For me, It was just part of the London experience to ride those double deck buses and they were very comfortable. I loved the seat above the driver on the second floor, it’s like having a bird’s eye view of the places you pass by.

London Transportation is very accessible and easy to navigate, very similar to other efficient transportation in developed countries. The London tube map can be intimidating at first glance but as long as you know where you are and where you are going, it’s good to figure which route you’d like to take from there. My only negative thing to say about my experience with the tube is that sometimes subway trains just stop – for some reason, then you have to transfer to another one or take another route so just keep this in mind. :)

