Tags

, , , , , , , ,

IMG_8218I wish I could take credit for finding this amazing hotel but it was my aunt who found this when she was looking for deals at ebookers.ch while planning for the trip to Madrid. I just booked the same hotel. We got a good deal actually but it doesn’t include breakfast.

IMG_8206Our flight was early so we came to the hotel earlier than check in time but they still tried to find us available rooms so we can check in early. We requested that we be close to each other’s room but it didn’t work out that way since housekeeping was still cleaning one of the rooms. They transferred us to different rooms instead which is no biggie, It’s not like I’m 12. I’ve stayed in hotels by myself before.

My aunts had the triple room, maybe that’s also why the deal they got was a lot cheaper. I don’t have any decent pictures of their room but this was my single room.

IMG_8212It doesn’t have the best views since it’s just facing another window of another room with a fair amount of distance in between, at least it has a window. I hate rooms without a window. Watched a lot of MTVs at night on that TV. Haha. There’s a small but ample closet by the foot of the bed.

IMG_8215The bathroom is okay. I’d fill that tub with hot water at night and soak my tired feet. It has a toilet and a bidet. If you look closely, you’ll actually see a lot of grime which is not nice. I’ve seen worse though.

Yes, the rooms are nice but the best thing about this hotel is: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! It’s located on Gran Via, smacked in the middle of shopping and restaurants. It’s ah-mazing. There are 2 starbucks within a 3 minute walk from the hotel and a couple of grocery stores and malls. I can’t stress enough how wonderful that is. You can take a siesta in the middle of the day and go out whenever you like.

There are also metro stops close by and the Red Tourist Bus also has a stop really close to the hotel, about a 2-3 minute walk.

IMG_8229My aunts’ triple room had a veranda facing another hotel but you can see Gran Via.

IMG_8251On our second day, they transferred my aunts’ to another room – a better one which was actually facing Gran Via. It had a corner veranda. The AC wasn’t working so they transferred them along with their belongings. We were just informed in the afternoon when we came back to rest. This was the view from their new room..

IMG_8421This was the restaurant in the hotel located close to the lobby.

IMG_8330Wifi is not free. It costs about 2 euros for an hour and it’s one time use only, you can’t login 15 minutes now and use the rest later. 10 for the whole day if I remember it right. I almost purchased the 10, glad I didn’t. Just go to the nearest cafe and order a drink.

PROS: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! Rooms are nice. Room Upgrade when the AC wasn’t working – they were proactive about it by transferring all the luggage and things

SO-SO: Service (some people were nicer than others)

CONS: grime in the bathroom, wifi is not free

RATING: 7/10

NEXT: Madrid Dia Uno

