Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

6

I love Greek Food. I’ve never been to Greece and I don’t personally know anyone of Greek nationality. So, I’m not sure if what I refer to as Greek food is the real Greek food. I was in Toronto a couple months ago and I discovered Jimmy the Greek and I love their food! I have tried other Greek food joints in Utah before but none of them were as memorable as this one. Haha. I was craving it so I decided to make some the other day.

The first photo is the food from Jimmy the Greek. I know I won’t be able to replicate that since the ingredients are not as easily available here in the Philippines.

The night before I made the marinate for the chicken. I got the original recipe here and I tweaked it.

INGREDIENTS:

  • About 5 pieces of chicken breasts cut into pieces
  • 2 lemons and juiced them
  • 1/4 cup Olive oil
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Salt and Pepper
  • 1/4 cup White Vinegar
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 Teaspoon mustard
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Thyme
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Dried Oregano

I didn’t use skewers, I just grilled the chicken on a pan grill. If you were gonna use skewers, you need to soak them in water for 30 minutes first before using. Combine all the ingredients, mix well. I marinated mine overnight. Grill for a few minutes on each side.

1I also drained the yogurt overnight to get this kind of consistency since yogurt is a little watery. The recipe said to use coffee filters but I used a regular bond paper instead.

3The next day, I started on making the Tatziki with the recipe found here. Tatziki is this glorious, amazing zesty white sauce. It is the most laborious out of all the four recipes I did for this meal. I had to chop the cucumber in tiny pieces. I know there should be an easier way to do that, I just don’t have the right gadget for it.

INGREDIENTS:

  • chopped 1 cucumber in tiny pieces
  • 1/2 white diced onion
  • 2 cups yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 3 cloves garlic minced

2I chopped the cucumber and mixed all the ingredients then added the yogurt I drained overnight and stored it in an air tight container.

5Then I made the Lemon Rice Pilaf. This was really good. I could eat this every meal.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 stick butter
  • 2 cups uncooked rice
  • 2 whole lemon juiced
  • 5 cups chicken broth
  • salt and pepper

I melted the butter first. I added the rice and stirred constantly until the rice was transparent. Added the lemon juice, chicken broth, and salt. I bought chicken powder which i dissolved in hot water. This was kind of salty so I probably should be more careful next time. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes or until rice is cooked.

4For the Greek Salad, found the recipe here. I didn’t like it as much plus feta cheese is so expensive here.

INGREDIENTS

  • Romaine Lettuce
  • tomatoes
  • cucumber
  • Olive

DRESSING

  • 1 cup olive oil
  • half of a lemon juice (I didn’t have much left so I wish I had put in more)
  • 2-4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 3 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • salt and pepper

6So, this is the final plate. I was really happy how it turned out. It was pretty close except for the salad.

7

