Tags

, , , , , , ,

UPDATE: Effective 14 April 2014 The Embassy of Canada in Philippines will only accept visa application submitted either on-line or through one of Visa Application Centres (CVACs) in Manila and Cebu. Please refer to How to submit an application

NOTE: As of July 3, 2013, Canadian Visa Applications now goes through VFS Services Philippines. They might have a different way of processing documents whereas before, documents are picked up from your home or office and they just mail you your passport after. Now, it’s a lot similar to the UK Visa Application, wherein you have to go their visa processing center and submit your documents. You still have the option to mail them though. This is their website for more information: http://www.vfsglobal.ca/canada/Philippines/index.html

How to submit an application from their website:
http://www.canadainternational.gc.ca/philippines/visas/apply-how_demande-comment.aspx

 

I spent New Year’s in Canada with family. I applied for my tourist visa and scheduled an appointment around December 8. I was hoping we would be able to spend Christmas and New Year’s in Canada but I realize that the time was really short so I was just hoping for the best and left any expectations. They do not do personal interviews like the US Embassy unless required, all applications are submitted through mail.

So, my Dad’s letter of invitation with a copy of his IDs came around the first week of December so we were frantic about getting documents ready in a couple of days. I went on the website to check the requirements for a Temporary Resident Visa Application or Tourist Visa. They also state the forms that needs to be filled up here. I also called the local information line which is (02) 845-9200 for inquiry to make sure that I have listed the right documents.

As a self-employed person, I submitted the following:

  • Document Checklist (2 copies)
  • Document Checklist (Form IMM5484)
  • Completed Application Form for a Temporary Resident Visa (Form IMM5257) – This form needs to be validated since you would need the bar codes on the last page.
  • Completed Family Information Form (IMM5465)
  • Manager’s check – always check with them what the rate is since it changes. I got mine from BDO.
  • Original Passport
  • Two Passport Photographs with the correct specification which can be viewed here.
  • Original Bank Certificates with receipts and passbooks
  • Recent Credit Card Statements (They don’t really require this, I just included them)
  • My Dad’s letter and other documents
  • Business documents such as the original DTI certificate, original Mayor’s permit, and other related original business doucments
  • NSO issued Birth Certificate (This was not also required, I just included it as proof of family relations.

After I got all of these completed, I called the scheduling number which can be any of these, depending on what line you are using.

1 (909) 101-8888 PLDT
1 (903) 101-8888 Bayantel
1 (900) 101-8888 Globe / Innove / Smart / Touchcard / Touchmobile

I gave them my information and I was given a reference number and instructions to put outside the brown envelope.

Fast forward 2 and a half weeks later, I got all my documents back and my passport with a visa stamp on it. I was so happy!

canada visa pixelate

When I looked at my passport, I saw that the visa was issued before Christmas and it took longer than usual with shipping because of the holidays I suppose. It’s really okay since tickets before Christmas are more expensive. :P

