Tags

, , , , ,


We went to the Louvre by subway stopping at the Palais Royal Musee de Louvre stop on Line 1. We just crossed the street from there. It is good to note that the museum is open everyday except for Tuesdays. Hours of operation can be seen here. Tickets for the permanent collection is 11 euros and 15 euros for the combined ticket. There is free admission on the first Sunday of each month and on July 14. Free admission is also available for some people on any day. :)

This was the long line we went on before we could even go under that triangular glass and we found out it’s only for security. Good thing it moved faster than expected. Towards the end, we found out that it’s just the line for security. The ticket booths are downstairs.

Of course, everyone goes to see the famous Mona Lisa first and the Nike of Samothrace is conveniently on the way. :)

She’s really popular.

The Galerie d’Apollon.

The cafeteria was really cool and the prices for the food weren’t as bad as I expected. I mean it had the monopoly of providing food for throngs of tourists. They could jack up the prices if they wanted but good thing they didn’t. I wish I took more pictures of the place.

I love the open areas around The Louvre. I could imagine if I were an art student, I can just pick out an area and quietly draw to my hearts content.

Did you ever think what was beneath the glass pyramids? Well, this is what it looks like and it’s way nice.

This is what a typical hot summer day outside the Louvre looks like. We even saw people dipping their feet in the water.

Musée du Louvre, 75058 Paris – France
Métro: Palais-Royal Musée du Louvre (lines 1 and 7)
Tel.: +33 (0)1 40 20 53 17
