Tags

, , , ,

The Avenues des Champs-Élysées is probably one of my favorite places in Paris because the tree lined streets are gorgeous, the Arc de Triomphe and the shopping. :P

The infamous huge Louis Vuitton store had a line. It was so busy inside.

My cousins went there on a Sunday when a lot of the stores were closed. They told me that they saw a huge line so they were curious what it was. They found out that people were lining up for Abercrombie & Fitch. I mean A&F clothes are nice but I wouldn’t line up for them. Maybe because it was rare or it was newly opened. Anyway, there are several stores like H&M and Promod as well as other brands. We had a late lunch here at McDonalds. My cousin tweeted this. His friend commented: “You went all the way to Paris to eat McDonalds?” I personally think there’s nothing wrong with having that once in a while as long as you try the local food as well. Sometimes fast food are just a more convenient and cheaper alternative. I had the Sa Majeste Au Bacon.

Most people go to The Avenues des Champ-Elysees to see the Arc de Triomphe. It is in the very middle of a busy street and there are no crosswalks. However, there are underground walkways on four corners that would help you get to the Arc de Triomphe.

I took this shot on the middle of the street while crossing The Avenues des Champ-Elysees. Some people pose for a shot. I did, when I first visited in 2003. I don’t recommend it though since the street is really busy. Some parts of the middle island are really narrow, you can be a vehicle casualty. It’s better to be safe, than sorry. :)

The arc is huge.

There’s a tomb of an unknown soldier here with an eternal flame. A ceremony is held every 11th of November.

People can still go up the arc. According to wiki, there’s an elevator that takes you up to the attic where there’s also a small museum. It takes a further 46 steps to climb the top. We never really bothered to go up since we’ve already seen the top of Paris from the Eiffel Tower so we really felt no need to go up. Besides, we were really tired.

My uncle’s family came back here on their last day to do some more last minute shopping. I remember on my first time to visit Paris, from Gare de Lyon we went strait here to see the Arc de Triomphe at night which was lovely. It was the first monument I saw of Paris. I’ve been here twice. This is a place in Paris I would probably always go back to.

