Tags

, , , ,

I went through booking.com and looked for a list of hotels in Venice. I saw Hotel Centauro which fits my budget. I like the location that it was on the mainland of Venice and it’s on a comfortable walking distance to the Rialto bridge and San Marco square. I also liked the reviews on it on Tripadvisor.

I did not have a hard time finding the hotel since the website’s map of the hotel was really helpful. I also read some tips and saw some pictures on Tripadvisor reviews that I’ve already familiarized myself with the place visually.

When I got off the Rialto stop, I walked down Calle de Carbon. Then I turned left when I reached the intersection with Calle de Cavalli. Strait down until I found Campo Manin. You will see a small square with banks and a statue with a lion on its foot.

Image

Then Hotel Centauro is tucked in a small street called Calle de la Vida or De Le Locande..

Check-in was a breeze. I just signed and given a key. They didn’t help me with my luggage since it’s only one person working at reception. They probably couldn’t too. Good thing I was on the first floor so I only had one flight of stairs to walk up to. I don’t think they have an elevator. I reserved a single room with a private bathroom for 40 euros inclusive of breakfast.

Isn’t my room cozy? I learned to appreciate good wallpaper during my trip in Europe. I used to hate wallpapers.

This is my wardrobe or armoire but here in the Philippines it is better known as cabinet. :D I have a TV too and a luggage rack.

The bathroom was basic bur really clean. Since I’m in Italy, even small bathrooms have their own bidets. I like the heater where I can hang my towel so they are very warm after I shower. :)

I had a good night’s sleep. My mom was even able to call me when I gave her the hotel’s number and my room number. There is a complimentary 1 hour internet use in the hotel. You would have to login with a username and password they provide at reception. You can also buy a 24 hour use of the internet but I don’t really need that.

Breakfast was basic with cereals, bread, cold meat cuts with juice and coffee. They’re dining room is lovely. It also has a row of windows with a lovely view of a canal and the lovely buildings across.

I recommend Hotel Centauro since I had a really pleasant experience there. No complaints but don’t expect first class service which doesn’t bother me. I think I got my money’s worth. :)

 

 

