As a Philippine passport holder, we are required to get a Schengen Visa for our travels in the Schengen states of Europe which includes: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

I lodged my application with the Embassy of Italy. I called up the embassy at 63-2-892-4531 to ask for the requirements. They were nice and answered my questions courteously. This is their website for more information. You can click here for the forms and requirements page. For a more detailed list of requirement for the tourist visa, you can check out this document on their website. It also lists the accredited travel insurance companies in the Philippines.

I was told to prepare a document checklist listing the documents I included in my appliacation which are the following:

  • Manager’s check – ask for the rate, it varies. addressed to PIASI
  • Cover Letter – this was not required, i just included one.
  • Application form for Schengen Tourist Visa
  • 1 passport size – white background
  • 1 extra passport size picture and 1 extra 2×2 size picture – these were returned
  • Original passport valid at least 9 months, photocopy of first and last page
  • Photocopy of previous visa and immigration stamps
  • Original Bank Certificates
  • Photocopy of Bank passbooks
  • Photocopy of Credit card and Statements
  • Photocopy of DTI Business Registration
  • Photocopy of Mayor’s Permit
  • Photocopy of BIR Certificate of Registration
  • Photocopy of Business Registration Plate
  • Photocopy of ITR
  • Photocopy of Flight Booking – reservation only, don’t purchase your tickets just yet.
  • Photocopy of Hotel Bookings
  • Printout of Itinerary
  • Photocopy of Travel Health insurance – I got mine through Blue Cross

* I have a business so I submitted mostly business documents. If you are employed or a student, the requirements may be different.

I was asked to put a Disclaimer on the bottom of the page which says: “Incomplete requirements may be ground for refusal of my application”. Then signed above your printed name.

I put all the documents inside a brown envelope, scotch taped. Then on the outside of the envelope, I was asked to list the following:

  1. First line – Italian Embassy Visa application
  2. Second line – Tourist Visa
  3. Third line – Name
  4. Fourth line – Passport number
  5. Fifth line – Reference number (you get this upon scheduling the pick up of your application)

Once I had all of my documents ready. I called up their hotline (sorry, I’ve forgotten what it was and didn’t list it. You can always ask for it when you ask for the requirements). The scheduling hotline is a lot more expensive to call so be prepared for the bill. If you’re calling from a prepaid phone, make sure you’ll have enough load to last you the conversation.

I was asked by the operator if I’m doing this for myself and if I’m not some agency trying to schedule for someone else. Once we got that out of the way, she got my information like name, address and the like. Then, she scheduled me for a pickup by the courier 2Go. She told me to give the courier PHP430.00, that’s for each applicant. I was told that the processing time was 3 weeks or 15 working days. Then I was given the reference number.

I was surprised to get my visa before New Year’s. I felt very very blessed. :)

