I had to go with budget accommodation on this trip so I went with Dragon Hostel based on the number of good reviews and the cost. I lost my camera in Macau so I couldn’t post pictures.

Location: Great. It’s a block away from the MTR Mongkok Exit. Directly across the Ladies Market. It was a little hard to find at first since there are no visible sign of the name of the Hostel but you can ask around. There are two access doors on either side of the building with 2 elevators on each side. 7-11 across the building and a Circle K close by. Lots of restaurants around.

Rooms: Really small. There’s some space for small luggages. The small TV had 6 local channels I think which was ok.  There was a fridge in the hallway. You get towels from the reception area or the office, it’s not instantly provided. The rooms are cleaned everyday. The only bad thing is the water heater in the shower. It takes about 10 minutes to heat up and it runs out after a while and reheats again. It was winter and really cold. I guess it’s not an issue during any other month.

Service: The receptionists were nice. Also the guards by the elevator. They try to answer questions you have such as how to go to places. There are 2 computers provided which are free to use and wifi is only available at the office.

Value: Very good value for money. We paid for HKD370 for a triple room per night. I had to make a deposit at China Bank for the first night’s stay to secure our rooms and paid the rest on our arrival. Hair dryers can be loaned but you have to deposit HKD100 and they’ll give it back once the item is returned.


I really recommend this hostel especially if you’re on a budget and you don’t mind the tiny space. Most hotel rooms in Hong Kong are on the small side anyway. The location is really great. They each gave us a calendar which was really nice. I think it’s because of the Chinese New Year that’s why they were giving them out.

