We settled for budget accommodations so that we would have more money to spend on food and experiences.

THE WINNERHongkong Category

The Dragon Hostel
Why: good location – close to MTR and Ladies Market, good rates (HKD370 for triple room ensuite), communication was prompt, convenient transaction as I was able to make a deposit on their bank account here (China bank or HSBC) – I don’t like giving out my credit card details, it has good reviews.

THE FINALISTS:

City Econo Guesthouse – they replied after a while but their rates were more expensive than Dragon Hostel, HKD130 difference per room for triple occupancy. They are located in the Jordan area.

City Plus Hostel – my friends stayed here and they said it was ok, they are in the same building as Dragon Hostel but on different floors and their rates are just a bit higher. For the same room, it’s HKD20 higher or HKD50 for one with a window.

Hop Inn Hostel – really cute rooms but the rate for a triple room is HKD700, good location though but they only have 8 rooms.

Casa Hotel – good location – close to MTR, nice rates at booking.com – around HKD500 for twin rooms. If we had more money, we would have stayed here.

THE WINNER – Macau Category

Hotel Ko Wah
Why: Semi-good reviews. Honestly, i picked it for the price which is HKD700 for the triple ensuite room. It is the most decent I could find in the center of Macau. I was surprised that they responded through email. They don’t require a deposit, they just want you to show up on or before a specified time. They were really prompt and helpful in providing information.

THE FINALISTS:

Macau Masters Hotel – rate is HKD1000 for triple rooms, good location but I have to pay for it in full if I do reserve it through macau.com which I don’t like but I could still change my mind. :P

Ole London Hotel – rate is around HKD1000 for triple rooms, reviews are so-so, good location but I have to pay in full too if I book this hotel.

Venetian Hotel – really, I considered it. The Bella suite with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa bed had a promo. It was around HKD2400 for the suite but when I checked back the promo is gone. It’s a lot more expensive now.


