It will be my third trip to Hong Kong in the past two years since I’ve come home. I really love the place. My aunt asked me to take my cousins out of the country. The place that I would suggest for first-timers is definitely Hong Kong. So this is going to be a family trip. There will be 6 of us travelling. Thanks to the Cebu Pacific sale, I got cheap tickets for Hong Kong and Macau.

I’m currently looking for accommodations. Well, I’ve booked one actually but I’m still kind of in the fence about it since my aunt has limited budget for my cousins. I would rather splurge on “experiences” rather than accommodation but at the same time, I wanted them to experience a hotel like stay since we really don’t do it often. My previous stays were with: The Cityview Hotel which I really loved, so close to the MTR and bigger rooms than the average and the Dorsett Seaview Hotel which was nice  and really close to the Temple Street market but it’s a block or two away from the nearest MTR exit. I booked 3 rooms at the Casa Hotel at a really good rate. It’s really close to the MTR exit. I’ve actually passed by this hotel several times. It had good reviews on Tripadvisor and It didn’t require a deposit at Booking.com. So that’s that..

Our Twin Room at the Cityview Hotel

 

Our Twin Room at the Dorsett Seaview Hotel. Loved the bathroom! :)

Currently, I’m considering budget hostels. I’ve emailed several recommended ones and so far there’s only one that is really promising. I bet the rooms would be really small but we only need a place to sleep and shower. They require a deposit though for the first night’s stay but if we go with this, we will be able to cut our accommodation budget into half but we’ll be squeezed into two rooms with 3 people each instead of comfortable 3 rooms along Nathan road. Dilemma.

Macau is expensive!

The most decent accommodation I could find is for P6000 a night for 3 adults which would mean P2000 per person and that’s for just a night’s stay. It doesn’t help that we’ll be staying there on a Saturday, I know. It beats a return ticket ferry though so it’s just fair.

