I was reading a post on the Solesister Travel Blog and I stumbled upon words by Pico Iyer on Travel and read his essay: Why We Travel.

These words left an impression on me..

“So travel, at heart, is just a quick way to keeping our minds mobile and awake. As Santayana, the heir to Emerson and Thoreau with whom I began, wrote, “There is wisdom in turning as often as possible from the familiar to the unfamiliar; it keeps the mind nimble; it kills prejudice, and it fosters humor.” Romantic poets inaugurated an era of travel because they were the great apostles of open eyes. Buddhist monks are often vagabonds, in part because they believe in wakefulness. And if travel is like love, it is, in the end, mostly because it’s a heightened state of awareness, in which we are mindful, receptive, undimmed by familiarity and ready to be transformed. That is why the best trips, like the best love affairs, never really end.”

I’m just the kind of person that never really settled. Since I was 18, I’ve never stayed in one place. I’ve moved so many times. I learned not to hold on to things, even people. My great grandpa is even from another country and settled here in this country. Both of my parents are living in the west. I was too until I came home last year. Sometimes, I think I may have gypsy blood in me. Haha. Maybe, I’m subconsciously a believer of wakefulness. I really like the idea of continuous growth without prejudice and acquired strength because of the experiences and lessons you learn along the way. I told a friend to travel, invest on experiences, to invest on herself. I think knowledge and memories are really priceless. We should always try to make good ones. They can’t be taken away.

