That’s my hand and my jammies.. Haha. I’m trying to show the blue ink on my index finger which you can barely see because I had pink nails. ^^

Today, I’m proud to say that I exercised my right to vote for people I believe in. Some may win and others may not. What matters is I chose the people who I believe are most capable in their posts.

The experience was very inconvenient. I went to the precinct before lunch. I got a number, mine was 695. I guess that it’s great to have that many people registered in just one classroom, it means they are interested and doing their part to vote. I returned after 5 hours and they were on number 590. 100 more to go..  I was like – great! Good thing there were people around I could chat with, friends, neighbors, relatives. Since some of the numbers they called weren’t present, they decided to let us (those who were waiting outside the door) in. I presented my precinct number, my name, and the number next to my name. Signed then thumb marked the list. I was given the paper and pen, took a seat and quietly shaded the circles while wiping the sweat off my face and neck. It was so hot! Once I was done, I entered the paper I had into the machine. I just participated on the first computerized polls in my country. On my way out, I had the indelible ink put on my index finger.

It was my first time to vote today. I left the country when I was 18 and I just came back a year ago. In time to register and vote this year. It was a peaceful election on this part of our country. What I’ve done might have been a small thing but I hope that somehow it will make a positive change for me, my family, my country and my posterity.

